Learning to Show Love to Others

I’m sure we can all agree that it’s sometimes hard to be kind to others who weren’t so kind to you. That is something I struggled with these past few months.

A friend of mine kept hurting me in a way (unintentionally) that it grew an anger me. I was bitter and angry that I just decided to let it go and move on. In addition to that, I chose to only give her 50% of my relationship. I stopped showing excitement to her and developing the friendship. Through the weeks it got harder and harder for me because I let the bitterness grow within me to the point where it was all I would think about and it would consume all my thoughts.

Finally, one day I decided that I couldn’t take it anymore and I needed to speak up. When we were alone, I told her what was bothering me and wow, did that make a difference! She was completely understanding and apologetic. From that day on, she stopped doing the thing that was bothering me and our friendship has grown ever since. That problem I was having with her was a barrier stopping the growth of our friendship. However, after I let out the anger off my chest, my heart opened up and I started showing more love to her. Our friendship has truly moved a milestone and I feel completely new.

This experience taught me a couple of things. First of all, if the friendship is worth it, fight for it. At first I thought that I would let the issue go since I thought I didn’t care about the relationship. Normally, I easily let things go and don’t worry too much about it because I know that little things aren’t worth my time and energy. Though, I later realized that this friendship was important to me in which is why it consumed all my energy and thoughts. I had let my anger get the best of me and started not giving love to her by not showing excitement when I saw her, not starting conversations, and just keeping distant from her. I struggled to show her love because I felt like she didn’t deserve it. Even though she didn’t deserve it, that didn’t give me a right to not show her love because every one deserves love. 

These past months I’ve been working on showing love to those who hurt me. I have to admit, it hasn’t been easy! But I’ve been praying about it and God has been helping me through it ! I’m seeing the way God is working in my heart and he is doing amazing things as he is constantly helping me show love. 

As God is working in my heart, I see a change in my attitude. As Jesus showed love to me when I didn’t deserve it, I’m trying to do the same to others even when they don’t deserve it. I think showing love to people rather than holding anger to them is a way to live a happier life. I would encourage you to do the same as well. I’m not saying it’s going to be easy but I think you should slowly start warming your heart. 

~keep inspiring ~

Glory

Leave a Reply

